Fashion, Beauty, Entertainment, Cars, Celebrities > Health & Fitness > Arthritis > FREE tips on dealing with stress, eating well, recipies and more!
FREE tips on dealing with stress, eating well, recipies and more!
Posted by Peter


Want to Feel Healthier?
We are a multi-partnered project at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay ON, Canada. Overseen by a team of researchers and health experts, we are dedicated to the prevention of disease and the promotion of health.
We offer a free and simple health Quiz that lets you assess your own health - it gives you immediate feedback!

www.successfulaging.ca
Everything on this website is FREE. When you fill out the quiz, the information you enter is completely confidential and remains confidential through the rules and regulations governed by the ethics board at Lakehead University.
You also do not have to wait for the results, the results are beamed back to you in the blink of an eye. It is a wonderful quiz created by wonderful people.
In the website there is also a weight watcher system. It is similar to other systems with the exception of one feature, ITS FREE. You can track your weight month by month and feel proud of the results.
This website is the result of years of research and education and is provided to you at no cost, EVER!

Posted by Alan Mackenzie


Peter <Pete_in_tbay@hotmail.com> wrote on Thu, 13 Nov 2003 23:35:42 -0500:
Why not learn how to post on newsgroups properly?

A whit? Since when have projects had "partners"?

Never heard of it. Since when have academic project participants been
posting anonymously and using hotmail addresses?

Pull the other one! You're a spammer, plain and simple, as nasty and
money-grabbing as any other. Kindly go forth and procreate.

--
Alan Mackenzie (Munich, Germany)
Email: aacm@muuc.dee; to decode, wherever there is a repeated letter
(like "aa"), remove half of them (leaving, say, "a").


Posted by Peter


Yes, I realize that I placed multiple listings and was afraid that it may
appear as SPAM. However, my reply should indicate that it is not and that
the contents of the website, that I am so excited about, is genuine.

This is a multi-partner project, the website was put together with input
from individuals of many different organizations (click on "meet the team"
to see who).

Never heard of Lakehead University? Check out Lakehead's website
www.lakeheadu.ca

Finally, nowhere on the www.successfulaging.ca website are we or will we ask
for money. To use the resources of the website you do not have to sign-up or
leave your email. I to am aware of SPAM, which is why I refuse to leave my
personal email in newsgroups. But rest assured, I will answer any email sent
to Pete_in_tbay@hotmail.comm (remove the last "m").

With the current resources, this is the only way to let people know about
the website on a global scale.

It is easy to criticize in a world of deceit, but one must be careful not to
overgeneralize to those who are here for good intentions.
Peter Brink, Thunder Bay, ON, Canada

"Alan Mackenzie" <none@example.invalid> wrote in message
news:dh92pb.88.ln@acm.acm...


Posted by Ted Rosenberg


Well, I LOOKED at your web site
full of feel-good trash
has anyone in your organization ever REASON a study?

it does not look like it

You are publishing references to PRESS reports about articles (NOT
STUDIES) which are NOT definitive..

In most cases, the press report is taken from a press release written bu
a flack who has no concept of the problem,

AND, most important, someone writes a letter to JAMA or NEJM, or LANCET,
which says "in my opinion, the sun comes up in the west", and the wire
report says " Researchers prove sun comes up in the west, a study by
Hopkins, published in...."

THEN, some twit like you QUOTES IT as FACT. Ignoring ALL the other
evidence.

To point out just ONE item, you are trumpeting that Hopkins says you
should take vitim for Macular Edema- I GO to Hopkins, for Macular Edema
- in ALL the years I have gone there, I have NEVER been told to use any
"supplements" or "vitimnes", and I go to one of the top people there. -
ALSO, you ignore the fact that the FDA advises people NOT to take the
stuff. and there are LOTS of studies in Medline showing why you shouldn't.

Most of your other factoids are questionable, at best - but the SOUND
like you have a clue.

THEN, you SPAM the newsgroups with your "informational site" it IS spam
- even if it is "non commercial"

PLEASE go away

Peter wrote:


Posted by Alan Mackenzie


Peter <Pete_in_tbay@hotmail.com> wrote on Sun, 16 Nov 2003 12:52:05
-0500:

OK. Would I find there evidence of your connection with the University?

You mean, you regard your website as important enough to abuse our (and
other) newsgroups with off-topic advertising for it? How is this not
spam? Perhaps we don't quite share your perceptions about your
importance, and are less than happy about posts which violate the
charters of our newsgroups, and dilute their value.

OK, Peter, thanks for your name. But really, if your project were a
scientific one, I'd be looking for details of your department,
supervisor's name, aim of research, and so forth, simply as a token of
good faith. And phrases like "Want to feal healthier?" and "I am so
excited about it" and "we are a multi-partnered project" don't exactly
suggest scientific motivation.

--
Alan Mackenzie (Munich, Germany)
Email: aacm@muuc.dee; to decode, wherever there is a repeated letter
(like "aa"), remove half of them (leaving, say, "a").


Posted by D. Monk


Alan Mackenzie<none@example.invalid> wrote in message
The project and its connection with Lakehead U. seem legit. The
project is partly funded by Manulife Financial- an insurance company
with a special interest in keeping the Canadian population healthy.
Perhaps Peter has a relationship with Manulife? That might explain his
excitement. It's no excuse to spam the newsgroups with cross-posts
though.

D. Monk

Posted by Nico Kadel-Garcia



"D. Monk" <monk@acmemail.net> wrote in message
news:cba6ebe1.0311230022.1067a7d0@posting.google.c om...
Can you grab his advisor's name, or the department at Lakehead U.? Most
universities forbid any form of spam, and their personnel department/IT
department/deans would be pretty angry about this sort of behavior.



Posted by Nico Kadel-Garcia



"D. Monk" <monk@acmemail.net> wrote in message
news:cba6ebe1.0311230022.1067a7d0@posting.google.c om...
Also. cross-posting is vastly, vastly preferable to sending the same thing
individually to all the different groups and making people who happen to
follow different groups read it again, and again, and again. But failing to
correctly set a "Followup-To:" is grounds for flensing him with wet
spaghetti.

And again, it really smells like a miracle-cure-spam-scam from the format
and style. It may even be in use to gather addresses to spam people, which
seems a common use for semi-vaguely-legitimate website forms these days.